Mom & Dad Come to Europe!

When my mom told me that she and my dad were planning a month-long trip to Europe, I was a bit shocked. My dad had only just last year ventured out of North America for a hunting trip to Argentina. Likewise, my mom had been to France for a river cruise trip with my grandmother for about 10 days last summer for her virgin European excursion. A month in Europe was going to be a very new experience for them. I feared culture shock would set in right away; that they would be jet lagged and overwhelmed. My fears were realized in true Yes-these-are-my-parents fashion, as you’ll see.

Don’t get me wrong – they’ve done great. But I feel like if my mom, who famously orders “lotsa ice” in her drinks, realized that ice would be hard to come across here, she would have packed an entire suitcase full of it (which, despite being a ridiculous impossibility, would only last her about a week). This has been the only real issue they’ve dealt with, so I am impressed thus far. Germany is full of beer (happy dad) and schnitzel (happy mom), so they are easily pacified if, say, a tour through a beer cellar goes a bit too long.

Instead of giving a play-by-play of the past few days, which nobody wants, I’ll present the highlights in the forms of pictures.

Thank you to our hosts, Jaqui in The Netherlands and Ian in Germany, for fitting us into your busy schedules and being wonderful guides and hosts. It’s been so nice to have familiar faces to welcome us to new cities! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
One thought on “Mom & Dad Come to Europe!

  1. Brandi Thomas says:

    Love the pictures! Especially the one of Mom and Dad. Excellent! A well-deserved vacation. See you all soon!

Leave a Reply

