The Twilight Zone

I am definitely jet lagged. It’s 7:30 in the morning and I am wide awake. I want to go buy a toothbrush (yeah, I forgot a toothbrush) but it’s so cold out. Mouthwash isn’t cutting it though… gross.

But look at this:

The Twilight Zone: Longroom

I don’t know if you can tell, but my door is super far away from my bed. I want to estimate that it’s about 30 feet away, but I’m a terrible estimator. I thought about that one for a while though. When I wake up and see the door, sometimes I feel like I’m in an insane asylum. It’s pretty hilarious how long this room is.

Also, check THIS out:

The Skeleton Key

Yeah, that’s a skeleton key. It locks my bedroom door. I also have a giant old school skeleton keyhole. It’s pretty awesome.

Last night I met up and went out with a bunch of other people from the class. There were 15 of us. It was so much fun! We took the metro to a random stop (one of our guys clapped and we all filed off the train like a class on a field trip) and walked down the street a few blocks until we found this total dive bar. We sent a few people in to check it out, and when they didn’t come back out to get us, we took the plunge. It was smoky, as all bars in Prague are, and we took some stairs from the front door to the eating area. We saw our friends nowhere. Groups of Czechs were eating jovially at tables while smoking and drinking and waiters were zooming past. As we were trying to be inconspicuous and find our friends, a waiter came up to us and started speaking in Czech. The most any of us know are some key phrases (more beer, no more beer, thank you) but nobody in our group had a clue what the guy was saying. Not. A. Clue. That is an experience that is pretty new to me. This is going to be a difficult month. I can hardly say “thank you” in Czech. English always comes out first while I fumble with the “j” sound in “de.”

Our group was further downstairs. Oh, my gosh. It was amazing. Downstairs was more of a club area, but this is a dive bar near our apartment, so it’s just locals. There is a weird spider light statue thing on the floor, in the middle of the dance floor basically, and streamers going from one wall to the other. Streamers. In this weird Soviet bar. Then there are tables that are built into the walls, like little caves. There are cages hanging, where I’m presuming dancers can take their posts if they feel so inclined. Nobody was down there – it was just our group… at first. We sat down and ordered a round of “Pils,” because none of us could remember that “pivo” is beer, and looked at the menu. After a few minutes, HUGE mugs of golden beer with fat, foamy tops came to the table. We toasted to Prague and ordered some meaty dishes that would be covered in gravy. Mmmm… so good. My friend Anna is a vegetarian so she ordered fried cheese. She got a 4×4″ block of cheese that looked like a fried fish fillet from Long John Silver’s. It was awesome. We couldn’t stop laughing at every little thing. (Most of us are pretty jet lagged and tired.) About an hour into the meal, Czechs come filing in and start grooving on the dance floor. It was like watching a high school dance from the 70s. They were stepping and snapping in tune to the music and having a great time with each other. We couldn’t stop watching them dance from our table, but they took no notice of the Americans in the corner.

We walked around in Prague some more, taking the metro into the city square. We decided to go back toward our apartments to find another place, because it would be cheaper and there would be fewer Americans. We found a place with no Americans, but it wasn’t as great as the first bar. It was brighter and louder (they were playing Rihanna) and it had more of an American Irish pub feel.

It was a fun night of getting to know each other and feeling out the Czech culture. Today I’m going to try to go into the city center and see the touristy stuff. Maybe have some coffee and people watch on the street.

We have a pretty diverse group: Americans from Washington State down to Georgia and up to Connecticut, some Irish girls, a British guy, and people who have taught in Korea and South America. I think it’s going to be a fun month.

One thought on “The Twilight Zone

Leave a Reply

